gordon.dewis.ca - Random musings from Gordon

Subscribe

It’s that time of year again

March 07, 2009 @ 21:00 By: gordon Category: Current affairs

Yes, it’s time to set your clocks an hour forward (except if you live in Saskatchewan or a couple other parts of North America where they’ve come to the conclusion that daylight saving time is pointless). At 02:00 Sunday morning it will magically be 03:00. Fun, eh?

The theory is that we will save energy, but I still have yet to read anything that says this actually takes place. As I mentioned last year, I have read things that indicate that energy consumption actually goes up. And accident rates tend to be higher in the week after the clocks are set forward. Not exactly a win-win situation.

If you’re a *NIX system administrator you probably updated your systems a couple of years ago, but in case you haven’t you probably should take a look at this. The zdump command should give you something like this:

[gordon@seedling]$ /usr/sbin/zdump -v /etc/localtime |grep 2009
/etc/localtime  Sun Mar  8 06:59:59 2009 UTC = Sun Mar  8 01:59:59 2009 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
/etc/localtime  Sun Mar  8 07:00:00 2009 UTC = Sun Mar  8 03:00:00 2009 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime  Sun Nov  1 05:59:59 2009 UTC = Sun Nov  1 01:59:59 2009 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime  Sun Nov  1 06:00:00 2009 UTC = Sun Nov  1 01:00:00 2009 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000

One Response to “It’s that time of year again”


  1. Rob says:

    And if you’re in the UK, that didn’t cave to the ravings of the lunatic known as Bush Jr, then we change times here..

    rmckenzi@rambler:~$ zdump -v /etc/localtime |grep 2009
    /etc/localtime Sun Mar 29 00:59:59 2009 UTC = Sun Mar 29 00:59:59 2009 GMT isdst=0 gmtoff=0
    /etc/localtime Sun Mar 29 01:00:00 2009 UTC = Sun Mar 29 02:00:00 2009 BST isdst=1 gmtoff=3600
    /etc/localtime Sun Oct 25 00:59:59 2009 UTC = Sun Oct 25 01:59:59 2009 BST isdst=1 gmtoff=3600
    /etc/localtime Sun Oct 25 01:00:00 2009 UTC = Sun Oct 25 01:00:00 2009 GMT isdst=0 gmtoff=0


Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. gordon.dewis.ca | Brace yourself for a little sleep deprivation (March 12, 2010 @ 17:58)

Leave a Reply

*