gordon.dewis.ca - Random musings from Gordon

Subscribe

We should be more like Morocco

November 04, 2018 @ 00:47 By: gordon Category: Current affairs, General

So, unlike Morocco who just decided to opt out of daylight saving time, we are still changing our clocks in the Spring and Fall. That means that at 02:00 Sunday morning, we roll out clocks back an hour.

I’ve written about this many times in the past. The TL;DR is that setting the clocks forward and back isn’t saving us energy, actually costs money unnecessarily and results in more injuries and deaths in the week following the time change.

If you’re a *NIX system administrator you probably updated your systems a few years ago, but in case you haven’t you probably should take a look at this. The zdump command should give you something like this:

[gordon@seedling gordon]$ zdump -v /etc/localtime|grep 2018
/etc/localtime  Sun Mar 11 06:59:59 2018 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2018 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
/etc/localtime  Sun Mar 11 07:00:00 2018 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2018 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime  Sun Nov  4 05:59:59 2018 UTC = Sun Nov  4 01:59:59 2018 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime  Sun Nov  4 06:00:00 2018 UTC = Sun Nov  4 01:00:00 2018 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000

Leave a Reply

*