gordon.dewis.ca - Random musings from Gordon

Subscribe

Returning to Standard Time. Again.

November 02, 2019 @ 23:57 By: gordon Category: Current affairs, General

So, in just over two hours much of Canada starts turning the clocks back an hour because Daylight Saving Time is ending. This means that we’ll have more darkness at the end of the day, see an increase in the injuries and deaths in the next week or so, and we won’t save any more energy or money in the process.

It’s high time that we end the madness and stop changing the clocks. Let’s change to Daylight Saving Time one more time in the spring and then stop messing with the clocks forever. Saskatchewan doesn’t change their clocks and they seem ok. British Columbia, for example, is talking about doing it and I’m confident they’ll be ok. Let’s make the decision as a country to leave the clocks alone. Please.

If you’re a *NIX system administrator you probably updated your systems a couple of years ago, but in case you haven’t you probably should take a look at this. The zdump command should give you something like this:

[gordon@seedling gordon]$ zdump -v /etc/localtime|grep 2019
 /etc/localtime  Sun Mar 10 06:59:59 2019 UTC = Sun Mar 10 01:59:59 2019 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
 /etc/localtime  Sun Mar 10 07:00:00 2019 UTC = Sun Mar 10 03:00:00 2019 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
 /etc/localtime  Sun Nov  3 05:59:59 2019 UTC = Sun Nov  3 01:59:59 2019 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
 /etc/localtime  Sun Nov  3 06:00:00 2019 UTC = Sun Nov  3 01:00:00 2019 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000

Leave a Reply

ERROR: si-captcha.php plugin: GD image support not detected in PHP!

Contact your web host and ask them to enable GD image support for PHP.

ERROR: si-captcha.php plugin: imagepng function not detected in PHP!

Contact your web host and ask them to enable imagepng for PHP.