gordon.dewis.ca - Random musings from Gordon

Subscribe

Switching to Daylight Saving Time

March 10, 2018 @ 17:07 By: gordon Category: Current affairs, General

Here we go again… changing the clocks forward an hour at 2AM early tomorrow morning in a misguided attempt to save energy. While we’ll shift when we see the sunlight, it won’t actually save an energy.

Instead, we’ll see an increase in accidents for the next week or so because people are discombobulated by the change in their sleep pattern. As an added “bonus”, there’s a 10% increase the likelihood that you’ll experience a heart attack during the days immediately following the time change.

We really need to pick one (preferably the summer version) and stick with it. A whole provinces of farmers (i.e. Saskatchewan) can’t be completely wrong.

If you’re a *NIX system administrator you probably updated your systems a couple of years ago, but in case you haven’t you probably should take a look at this. The zdump command should give you something like this:

[gordon@seedling gordon]$ zdump -v /etc/localtime|grep 2018
/etc/localtime  Sun Mar 11 06:59:59 2018 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2018 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
/etc/localtime  Sun Mar 11 07:00:00 2018 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2018 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime  Sun Nov  4 05:59:59 2018 UTC = Sun Nov  4 01:59:59 2018 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime  Sun Nov  4 06:00:00 2018 UTC = Sun Nov  4 01:00:00 2018 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000

 

Leave a Reply

*