gordon.dewis.ca - Random musings from Gordon

Subscribe

Brace yourself: we’re changing the clocks again

November 05, 2016 @ 10:15 By: gordon Category: Current affairs, General

800px-Vortex_back.jpgBrace yourself! At 02:00 Eastern Sunday morning, we are rolling the clocks back an hour under the pretence of saving energy. Read this to find out why it’s pointless. The Ottawa Citizen published a story about nine solid reasons to hate Daylight Saving Time a few days ago that pretty much captures what I’ve been saying for years.

If you’re a *NIX system administrator you probably updated your systems a couple of years ago, but in case you haven’t you probably should take a look at this. The zdump command should give you something like this:

[gordon@seedling gordon]$ zdump -v /etc/localtime|grep 2016
/etc/localtime  Sun Mar 13 06:59:59 2016 UTC = Sun Mar 13 01:59:59 2016 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
/etc/localtime  Sun Mar 13 07:00:00 2016 UTC = Sun Mar 13 03:00:00 2016 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime  Sun Nov  6 05:59:59 2016 UTC = Sun Nov  6 01:59:59 2016 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime  Sun Nov  6 06:00:00 2016 UTC = Sun Nov  6 01:00:00 2016 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

CAPTCHA
*