gordon.dewis.ca - Random musings from Gordon

Subscribe

Daylight saving time. Again.

March 10, 2019 @ 00:07 By: gordon Category: Current affairs, General

Apparently, we’re still doing this whole daylight saving time silliness. Fine, ok.

If you live in one of the unfortunate places that changes the clocks, set them forward at 02:00 local time Sunday morning.

Myth: Daylight saving time saves energy.
Fact: No, it doesn’t. At best, it simply results in a shift in when energy is consumed.

Myth: There’s no real downside to switching to daylight saving time.
Fact: More people are injured or killed in the week following the time change than usual.

Either of those is a good reason to end the madness and pick one time and stick to it going forward. I’d prefer to stick with DST, but I’m at the point where I don’t care — just pick one.

If you’re a *NIX system administrator you probably updated your systems a couple of years ago, but in case you haven’t you probably should take a look at this. The zdump command should give you something like this:

[gordon@seedling gordon]$ zdump -v /etc/localtime|grep 2019
/etc/localtime  Sun Mar 10 06:59:59 2019 UTC = Sun Mar 10 01:59:59 2019 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
/etc/localtime  Sun Mar 10 07:00:00 2019 UTC = Sun Mar 10 03:00:00 2019 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime  Sun Nov  3 05:59:59 2019 UTC = Sun Nov  3 01:59:59 2019 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime  Sun Nov  3 06:00:00 2019 UTC = Sun Nov  3 01:00:00 2019 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000

Leave a Reply

ERROR: si-captcha.php plugin: GD image support not detected in PHP!

Contact your web host and ask them to enable GD image support for PHP.

ERROR: si-captcha.php plugin: imagepng function not detected in PHP!

Contact your web host and ask them to enable imagepng for PHP.