gordon.dewis.ca - Random musings from Gordon

Subscribe

Falling backwards

October 31, 2015 @ 13:00 By: gordon Category: Astronomy, Current affairs, General

800px-Vortex_back.jpgHere we go again… rolling the clocks back an hour earlier at 02:00 Eastern Sunday morning under the pretence of saving energy. Read this to find out why it’s pointless.


If you’re a *NIX system administrator you probably updated your systems a couple of years ago, but in case you haven’t you probably should take a look at this. The zdump command should give you something like this:

[gordon@seedling gordon]$ zdump -v /etc/localtime|grep 2015
/etc/localtime  Sun Mar  8 06:59:59 2015 UTC = Sun Mar  8 01:59:59 2015 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
/etc/localtime  Sun Mar  8 07:00:00 2015 UTC = Sun Mar  8 03:00:00 2015 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime  Sun Nov  1 05:59:59 2015 UTC = Sun Nov  1 01:59:59 2015 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime  Sun Nov  1 06:00:00 2015 UTC = Sun Nov  1 01:00:00 2015 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000

Leave a Reply

CAPTCHA
*